Old Forge Home Page Adirondack Mountains sitemap
Snowmobile Safety
Refueling your snowmobile
Old Forge, NY Home Page
Old forge, Adirondacks Ice Safety
Old Forge, NY
Snowmobile Safety
Old Forge, NY Accommodations, hotels, motels
Old Forge, NY, safety what to wear snowmobiling
Old Forge, NY attractions, enchangted forest
Travel Packages Old forge, ny
Other Tips, Snowmobiling Old Forge in the Adirondacks

New York State has passed a law effective April 30, 2006 that raises the New York State snowmobile registration fee to $100 unless you belong to a club recognized by the New York State Snowmobile Association (NYSSA).  The fee remains at $45 for those who are members of NYSSA-recognized clubs.

The annual membership dues for most of the local clubs will be $25 for a family and will include husband, wife and any children living at the same address under the age of 18.  These membership dues will entitle you to the voucher necessary to register your snowmobile with New York State for the lower registration fee of $45 per snowmobile.  Local clubs in the area that are adjacent to our trail system include the Inlet Barnstormers Snowmobile Club in Hamilton County and the Trackside Blazers Snowmobile Club in Oneida County.

You can also join any New York State Snowmobile Association club online using a credit card.  The New York State Snowmobile Association website is http://www.nyssnowassoc.org/statemap.htm  The Executive Director of NYSSA is Jim Jennings and his phone number is TOLL FREE:(888) 624-3849.

HERKIMER COUNTY CLERK , SYLVIA M. ROWAN IS ENCOURAGING ALL SNOWMOBILERS TO REGISTER EARLY with New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. New York State requires out of state residents to register their snowmobiles.  As a winter visitor we would like to make your visit pleasant and easy when registering your snowmobile.  To do so, you will need the following: 
1.         Completed Snowmobile Registration Application (MV-82SN)
2.         Proof of Ownership Form mv821sn (your out of state registration, title with a bill of sale)
3.         Proof of registrant’s name and date of birth (driver’s license) See ID requirements HERE
4.         For a snowmobile not registered in your home state, a sales tax exemption form (DTF03)   
5.         Registration fee of $45.00 (with membership voucher from club) or $100 (without voucher).                       
Mail forms to Herkimer County Clerk's Office at 109 Mary Street, Suite 1111 , Herkimer , NY 13350 .  They also accept applications by fax using your credit card for payment.  Their fax numbers are 315-867-1189 & 315-866-4396. You must display the current year sticker on your sled so please renew early.
Herkimer County Clerk Sylvia Rowan suggests contacting her or her staff at 315-867-1130 to answer questions about snowmobile registrations or other DMV matters. Someone is available between 8:00a.m. and 9:00a.m. to answer questions by telephone.  Her regular office hours are 8:30a.m. to 4:45p.m. Monday through Friday.

Upstate Specialty, consultants, web hosting, design